Countdown to the 110th CYC Race
to Mackinac - July 21, 2018




Email the Regatta Manager

Click here to email the Regatta Manager with any questions or information.

Join Our Mailing List


And the 2012 Race to Mackinac Winners Are ...

July 25, 2012 05:49 PM
Congratulations to all the winners of the 2012 Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac, presented by Veuve Clicquot!

Winner of the Mackinac Trophy was Providence, owned by Jerry and Greg Miarecki representing the Chicago Yacht Club. Providence won the 146-boat division with a corrected time of 37:28:47. The Mackinac Cup included boats from Sections 5 - 8, Beneteau 36.7, J105 and Tartan 10.  Providence is an Ericson 35 MK II.

For the Mackinac Cup, Tom Londrigan Sr. and Joe Londrigan’s J109 Realt Na Mara, won the 121-boat division with a corrected time of 38:28:45.  The Mackinac Trophy included boats from Sections 1 – 4, Beneteau 40.7, J111, J109, J120, Farr 40 and Turbo. The Londrigans are based in Springfield, Ill., and represent Island Bay Yacht Club.

For the Doublehanded division against nine other boats, George Petritz and Scott Petritz’s TFWB Relentless won overall with a corrected time of 39:14:38. Relentless is a J29 and represents the Grand Traverse Yacht Club.

Triceratops, owned by Jonathan and Lori Alvord of Mount Pleasant, Mich., won in the Multihull division with a corrected time of 40:41:51. Triceratops is a Corsair 31 and represents the New England Multihull Association. 

Cheekee Monkee, a modified F-31 multihull owned by Ron White representing the Chicago Yacht Club, received the Martin D. Rieck Trophy for line honors in the multihull division. Cheekee Monkee finished the race in an elapsed time of 38:25:31.

In the Cruising division, Intuition won overall in the 42-boat division with a corrected time of 48:22:12. Intuition is a S2 9.2A boat and owned by Tom Kershner, Mark Gillespie, Chris Hynes, Bill Burns and Jenn Macainag from Madison, Wis. Intuition represents the Hoofer Sailing Club.

Infinite Diversion, a Hanse 630e owned by Chicago Yacht Club Commodore Joe Haas, was first to finish in the Cruising Division, crossing the line Sunday evening with an elapsed time of 55:27:17.

The Royono Trophy, awarded for line honors in the racing division, returned to Chicago Yacht Club this year after a four-year absence. Peter Thornton's Il Mostro, a Volvo 70, finished the race in an elapsed time of 35:38:19.


For full divisional results, visit hereAdditional photos will be uploaded shortly in the 2012 Photo Gallery.

According to Lou Sandoval, chairman of the 104th Race to Mackinac, "This year's race was a great display of tactical prowess combined with perseverance for many of the sailing crews that competed.
"From a race organizer's point of view, I am thrilled. The 100 percent completion rate is a testament to our competitors' preparation. Congratulations to everyone for a successful, safe and fun race!"
We look forward to seeing you on the water next year for the 105th Race to Mackinac. The 2013 will begin on Sat., July 13, 2013.


Chicago Yacht Club


Team One





Star Line

Copyright © 2018 Chicago Yacht Club. CYC