Countdown to the 111th CYC Race
to Mackinac - July 13, 2019




Email the Regatta Manager

Click here to email the Regatta Manager with any questions or information.

Join Our Mailing List


Overall Winners Announced for the 109th Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac Presented by Wintrust



CHICAGO, IL (July 2017): After a challenging race as a result of taxing weather conditions, more than 200 boats have finished the 109th Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac presented by Wintrust. One of the world’s longest-running freshwater distance races, the Mac is a 333-mile sprint from the Chicago Lighthouse, just east of Navy Pier, to the Round Island Lighthouse near Mackinac Island, Michigan. This historic race has become a grand annual tradition for sailors not only from the Great Lakes, but from around the world. The Chicago Mac is widely considered the most prestigious fresh-water distance race anywhere in the world. The 109th running of this fresh-water classic wrapped up earlier this week.


TOA, owned by Chicago Yacht Club Members Bruce Danly and Jim Mitchell, placed first in the Mackinac Cup Division. "This was the race of a lifetime, definitely one for the books. Our crew worked hard and made the dream came true," said Mitchell. The Mackinac Cup Division this year was awarded to the winner on corrected time of the smaller monohull racing boats.


The Chicago Mackinac Trophy Division, was won by Wizard, a Reichel/Pugh 74  owned by David Askew and Peter Askew of Bayview Yacht Club. "This was a great race for us," said Charlie Enright, the only American skipper in the last Volvo Ocean Race and a crew member on Wizard. "Despite the variety of different weather conditions, we were able to come out with a successful result." The winner of the Mackinac Trophy in 2017 represents the winner on corrected time of the larger monohull racing boats.

Trois Vignes finished as the overall winner of the Cruising Division on a corrected time basis, winning the Vanenna Cup. Trois Vignes, a Jenneau 64 DS, is owned by John Palmer of the Macatawa Bay Yacht Club. The cruising division started racing on July 14.

The Royono Cup, awarded to the first boat to finish of the Saturday starters, was presented to Arete for the second year in a row. Arete is owned by Port Huron Yacht Club Member Rick Warner, who also won the Martin D. Rieck trophy for best corrected time for a multihull. Arete then went on to be the first boat to finish the Super Mac - a race bypassing Mackinac Island and continuing down Lake Huron to Pt. Huron, MI. By winning the Super Mac, Arete claimed the Sheldon Clark-Aaron DeRoy Trophy. "This was the toughest race we have ever done on this vessel," said Chicago Yacht Club member Ron White, the navigator of Arete. "Our team worked incredibly well together and it is a fantastic feeling to be awarded with these trophies."  Il Mostro, a Volvo 70 owned by Chicago Yacht Club member Peter Thornton, was the first monohull race boat to finish, with an elapsed time of 27 hours, 22 minutes.

Infinite Diversion, a Hanse 630e owned by Chicago Yacht Club Past Commodore Joe Haas, racing in the Cruising Division, crossed the finish line and was the earliest boat to ever finish in Race to Mackinac history, earning their crew the Ille Aux Galets Trophy for the first Friday starter to finish the race.  Infinite Diversion finished in 40 hours, 8 minutes after it’s Friday start.

The winners of the numerous sections, as well as full standings by section, can be found at

The Chicago Yacht Club draws roughly 3000 amateur and professional sailors to partake in its Race to Mackinac. This year, sailors from 40 states and nine countries, spanning from Australia to the United Kingdom, competed. Due to poor weather conditions, over 90 boats were forced to retire from the race.

The Race to Mackinac would not be a success without the hundreds of volunteers working diligently to ensure that this historic race runs smoothly as well as the many sponsors who generously support the race. Wintrust is the presenting sponsor of the Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac.


About the Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac: At 333 miles (289.4 nautical miles), the Race to Mackinac is one of the world’s longest running freshwater distance races. ‘The Mac’ starts at the Chicago Lighthouse just east of Navy Pier and continues to Mackinac Island, MI. The Race can be followed online via Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram. Follow our official hashtag #CYCRTM and track the competitors on the race tracking app – YB Tracking. See more at

About Chicago Yacht Club: Founded in 1875, the Chicago Yacht Club is one of the oldest and most respected yacht clubs in the world. Its mission is to encourage, promote, and develop knowledge, participation, and enjoyment of all aspects of yachting. To that end, the Club hosts many world class competitions, including its signature Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac and numerous North American and World Championships. The Club is also recognized as a leader in sailing education, with one of the largest junior sailing programs in the United States. The Club is home to more than 1400 members, including winning America’s Cup skippers, Olympic medalists and hopefuls, and outstanding boaters of all types, from ages 4 to 104. The Club offers year-round activities for its diverse membership at two locations on the city’s shoreline, at Monroe and Belmont Harbors. Learn more at

Contact Information:
Noreen Heron/Emily Potts/Kathleen Moran


Chicago Yacht Club


Team One







Star Line


Barton and Gray

West marine







US Sailing


Copyright © 2018 Chicago Yacht Club. CYC